One of the ways we help our customers listen smarter here is in how we treat their data.  We treat anything our customers tell us to gather via our platform as extremely valuable, because it’s the aggregate of this data that enables powerful insights – concepts that don’t just tell a brand their “vital signs,” but empower business decisions.

It’s that mindset that led us to create the “Not Relevant” button in our Content Browser. This gives users a way to remove social data from their campaign, not by deleting it completely, but essentially putting it in the “recycle bin.” We remove results marked “Not Relevant” from all stats and visualizations, but those posts aren’t gone completely. If needed, pulling these post back into a campaign is as simple as removing the “Not Relevant” tag. Again – data never disappears or is deleted.

All those features have been around for quite some time, but our customers have recently asked a new question: “When I add a new Campaign Exclusion, can you guys automate the whole ‘Not Relevant’ tagging process for me across my entire campaign history?”

Why yes. Yes we can!

I’m excited to announce our latest feature, Retroactive Campaign Exclusions. What’s great about this is, again, we’re not throwing away any data, just removing it from view. This is a pretty powerful feature, so we’re rolling it out progressively across our user base after this announcement publishes. Let me take you on a brief tour of how it works:

before_exclusions_applied

 

Once this feature is active for you, you’ll notice this “Apply to Campaign History” button appear within the Exclusion Filters section of your Campaign Admin. When you click on that button, the platform will take all current exclusion filters, and apply them to the entire data set within that campaign – all the way back to the first post ever collected. This will only apply to the campaign you’re editing – not to any other campaigns, not to your MutualMind site.

Of course, this set of Exclusions doesn’t match any results, so when you hit the “Apply…” button, we give you a friendly notice:

exclusion_no_results

 

So, let’s add an exclusion for the keyword “hamster”, which (surprisingly) does match some results:

exclusion_matched_results

 

You’ll note here we give you a count of how many results this matches, whether they’ve been marked “Not Relevant” or not. That’s to give you an overall sense of what you’re excluding – to take a closer look at what would actually affect your stats, use that “click here” link to open a Content Browser window and see exactly what you’ll be excluding.

If you like what you see, click “OK,” and you’ll be asked one more time, just to make sure:

last_chance_confirm

 

From here, if you click “OK,” you will kick off the exclusion process.  We’ll let you know that we’ve started it, and we’ll also email you when we’re done:

request being processed

 

exclusion_confirmation_email

 

Some retroactive exclusions take longer than others, simply depending on the amount of content being processed.  In my tests, even for very large exclusions, I’ve only seen these take 5-10 minutes.  While we’re processing a retroactive exclusion request you can enter new Exclusions, but the campaign history button will be disabled until we’re done with the most recent batch:

in_progress_button

 

Once the whole process is complete, you’ll see these results removed from any searches within your Content browser, and they’ll be removed from stats once they refresh.

We hope you’ll enjoy this feature, and find it useful for pulling out spam results from your campaign history.  As always, feel free to email me if you have any questions!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
If You Enjoyed That Article...

If You Enjoyed That Article...

You may want to join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!